Reiki the universal life energy

Posted by on Sep 2, 2013 in Blog

Reiki the universal life energy

Energy is the currency of life and the universe. As a system of healing, Reiki works on the physical, emotional, mental and spiritual levels. Reiki is a lovely treatment if you want to bliss-out or as a regular tonic to recharge your batteries. It is also used to support a physical or emotional healing process.

Reiki is a hands on form of energy healing. During a treatment session, the client lies on a massage table, fully clothed and the practitioner lightly places their hands on or above various positions of the body. Some people like to spend the hour in silence, some with soft music on and others find it helpful to provide feedback to the practitioner and let them know what’s going on in their life and body.

Reiki is open to everyone. You don’t have to believe in anything in order for it to work. Some people are more sensitive to feeling subtle changes in energy so the experience of a session will be different for different people. Deep relaxation and falling asleep aren’t uncommon. Sceptics are most welcome to attend a session with me or a workshop. The flow of Reiki energy is something that is best experienced.

I was pretty much a sceptic when I signed up for a level I Reiki workshop back in 1997. It was one of those things I found myself doing without any real idea as to why I was there. And so, with a healthy amount of curiosity and a small dose of scepticism, I went along and was amazed at the discernible change in energy in my hands following the attunement. Level II quickly followed as I wanted to learn more and have a deeper connection to this energy. I then mainly used Reiki on myself, family and pets (yes, great for animals too!).

Everyone is able to use Reiki energy, it’s just a matter of ‘tuning in’ to the energy as you would tune a radio to find a station. There are several levels to learning Reiki – I, II and III and at each level an attunement is done which opens the energy flow for that particular level. The first two levels are usually taught over a day or weekend workshops. The third level is referred to as a master and means that the person is able to teach and pass on the ability to use Reiki to others.

It took me awhile to get to the point where I was ready to move to the third level. Not everyone does and it certainly isn’t mandatory, it’s really a personal decision. I chose to study with the wonderful Kathryn J Reynolds who I had known for many years. I had my attunement beside the sacred and magical Chalice Well in Glastonbury, in September 2011.

Reiki follows principles based on the Buddhist tradition, where Reiki is thought to have originated. The five principles are basic guidelines for living in a way that honours you and all life around you. It is easy to see how they can be adopted by anyone, regardless of whether or what spiritual path you follow. If we could all live these five principles every day, I reckon the world and life would start to look a lot different. And if you find yourself worrying or getting angry at something, tomorrow is another day!

Just for today, do not anger
Just for today, do not worry
Honour your parents, teachers and elders
Earn your living honestly
Show gratitude to all living beings

Reiki has evolved since it first came into general knowledge in Japan in the mid-1800′s through Mikao Usui. Hawayo Takata is credited with bringing Reiki to the West in the late 1930′s and practitioners can trace their lineage back to Takata. The history of Reiki is open to debate and speculation but this does not change the value of this simple, yet powerful, form of healing.

Give your wellbeing a boost, book a Reiki session.

Back to Blog